Album Details

February 05, 2008
Pop/Rock, Roots Rock, Retro-Rock, Blues-Rock, Boogie Rock, Contemporary Blues

Album Review

Here we go again. Cleopatra, a label long associated with issuing titles of dubious quality (and sometimes mysterious origin) by well-known artists, has licensed from Warner these early sides by Dr. John. The music isn't terrible by any stretch, but it's not great either. Couple this with the fact that these sides have released on CD at least a dozen times (and that's a very conservative estimate) by labels all over the globe and what do you have? Not much that's worthy of interest, let alone purchasing. These are sides that Mac Rebennack (Dr. John) himself looks at with some regret. There is no reason for even the most ardent fan to purchase these again.
Thom Jurek, Rovi

Track Listing

  1. Tipitina
  2. She's Just a Square
  3. Zu Zu Man
  4. Mean Cheatin' Woman
  5. One Night Late
  6. In the Night
  7. Did She Mention My Name
  8. The Grass Looks Greener Yonder
  9. New Orleans
  10. Bald Headed
  11. The Time Had Come
  12. Loser for You Baby
  13. The Ear Is on Strike
  14. A Little Closer to My Home
  15. I Pulled the Cover off You Two Lovers
  16. Go Ahead On
  17. Just Like a Mirror
  18. Bring Your Love
  19. Make Your Own
purchase full album