Album Details

March 25, 2008
Music Brokers
Pop/Rock, Folk-Rock, Contemporary Pop/Rock, Psychedelic, Sunshine Pop, AM Pop

Album Review

A collection like this one can't help but underscore what an amazing group the Mamas & the Papas were in their prime, and songs like "Monday, Monday," the immortal "California Dreaming," "Go Where You Wanna Go," the gorgeous "I Saw Her Again," and the autobiographical "Creeque Alley" were simply great singles full of wonderful (and at times achingly spooky) vocals and harmonies and superb arrangements. All of those songs shine through as great songs here, but unfortunately they aren't in the original versions, but drawn instead from a July 3, 1995 concert that featured original member John Phillips, his longtime friend Scott McKenzie, and singers Lisa Brescia and Deb Lyons. The songs still hold up, but the original 1960s releases featuring Phillips with Denny Doherty, Cass Elliot, and Michelle Phillips are never going to be bested.
Steve Leggett, Rovi

Track Listing

  1. Monday, Monday
  2. California Dreaming
  3. Dedicated to the One I Love
  4. Dream a Little Dream of Me
  5. I Saw Her Again
  6. Straight Shooter
  7. Sunday Will Never Be the Same
  8. Down on the Bayou
  9. Go Where You Wanna Go
  10. Creeque Alley