Album Details

Jazz, Trumpet Jazz, Jazz Instrument, Big Band, Swing, Mainstream Jazz

Album Review

The Krupa band of 1941 to 1943 had two great forces in it with the addition of trumpeter Roy Eldridge and vocalist Anita O'Day replacing Irene Day. Eldridge almost singlehandedly transformed the orchestra from a pop-based dance band to a more jazz-inspired one, and O'Day was simply the most swinging singer Krupa ever had in the fold. Highlights include a wild "After You've Gone," "Stop! The Red Light's On," "Let Me Off Uptown," "Thanks for the Boogie Ride," "Knock Me a Kiss," "Bop Boogie," and the previously unissued "Barrelhouse Bessie From Basin Street." Those interested in Krupa's career as a bandleader should start with this one.
Cub Koda, Rovi

Track Listing

  1. Green Eyes
  2. Let Me off Uptown
  3. Kick It
  4. After You've Gone
  5. Rockin' Chair
  6. Amour
  7. Stop! The Red Light's On
  8. Watch the Birdie
  9. The Walls Keep Talking
  10. Skylark
  11. Bolero at the Savoy
  12. Thanks for the Boogie Ride
  13. Keep 'Em Flying
  14. Pass the Bounce
  15. Ball of Fire
  16. Harlem on Parade
  17. Knock Me a Kiss
  18. Barrelhouse Bessie from Basin Street
  19. That Drummer's Band
  20. Murder, He Says
  21. Bop Boogie
  22. Watch Out!
  23. Swiss Lullaby
  24. Why Fall in Love With a Stranger?
purchase full album