Album Details

October 16, 1957
Jazz, Mainstream Jazz, Early Jazz, Jazz Instrument, Saxophone Jazz, Swing

Album Review

Genius may not be the right word, but "brilliance" certainly fits. At the age of 51 in 1957, Hawkins had already been on records for 35 years and had been one of the leading tenors for nearly that long. This date matches him with the Oscar Peterson Trio (plus drummer Alvin Stoller) for a fine run-through on standards. Hawk plays quite well, although the excitement level does not reach the heights of his sessions with trumpeter Roy Eldridge.
Scott Yanow, Rovi

Track Listing

  1. I'll Never Be the Same
  2. You're Blasé
  3. I Wished on the Moon
  4. How Long Has This Been Going On?
  5. Like Someone in Love
  6. My Melancholy Baby
  7. Ill Wind
  8. In a Mellow Tone
  9. There's No You
  10. The World Is Waiting for the Sunrise
  11. Somebody Loves Me
  12. Blues for Rene
  13. Begin the Beguine [#]
  14. I Never Had a Chance [#]
  15. I Never Had a Chance [#]
  16. I Wished on the Moon
  17. Like Someone in Love
  18. Ill Wind
  19. In a Mellow Tone
  20. There's No You
  21. Blues for Rene
purchase full album