Album Details

August 11, 2009
Country, Traditional Country, Honky Tonk, Bakersfield Sound, Country Boogie, Western Swing

Album Review

Raven's The Quintessential Hank Thompson 1948-1979 covers a lot of ground in a single disc: 30 tracks from 31 years, a testament to Thompson's longevity as well as the need for a good, concise overview such as this. There have been plenty of Thompson sets, from Bear Family's exhaustive door stop of a 12-disc box to a variety of single-disc strolls through his back pages, but nothing conveys his consistency like The Quintessential, which rounds up all the hits from "The Wild Side of Life" to the lived-in, good-natured honky tonk of "Smoky the Bar" and "The Older the Violin, the Sweeter the Music." Of course, with a career as long as Thompson's there are inevitably many charting hits missing from this set, but all the big hits -- from "Humpty Dumpy Heart" and "Squaws Along the Yukon" to "Six Pack to Go" and "On Tap, in the Can, or in the Bottle" -- are here, making the best introduction to this classic country singer ever assembled.
Stephen Thomas Erlewine, Rovi

Track Listing

  1. Humpty Dumpty Heart
  2. Whoa Sailor
  3. The Wild Side of Life
  4. Waiting in the Lobby of Your Heart
  5. Rub-A-Dub-Dub
  6. Wake Up Irene
  7. A Fooler, A Faker
  8. Breakin' the Rules
  9. Honky-Tonk Girl
  10. We've Gone Too Far
  11. The New Green Light
  12. Wildwood Flower
  13. Breakin' in Another Heart
  14. Most of All
  15. Don't Take It out on Me
  16. The Blackboard of My Heart
  17. Rockin' in the Congo
  18. Squaws Along the Yukon
  19. I've Run out of Tomorrows
  20. Anybody's Girl
  21. Cocaine Blues
  22. A Six Pack to Go
  23. Oaklahoma Hills
  24. Hangover Tavern
  25. On Tap, In the Can, Or in the Bottle
  26. Smoky the Bar
  27. I've Come Awful Close
  28. The Older the Violin, The Sweeter the Music
  29. Who Left the Door to Heaven Open
  30. I Hear the South Callin' Me