Album Details

May 10, 2011
Pop/Rock, Alternative Pop/Rock, New Wave, College Rock, Dance-Rock

Album Review

In the relatively short years between 1980 and 1991, the Psychedelic Furs crafted what would go on to be some of the most influential modern rock of its era. With just seven proper studio albums, the group penned scores of singles that existed in a uniquely dark space somewhere between their glam rock roots and the gritty side streets of punk. Playlist: The Best of the Psychedelic Furs does a fair job of capturing some of the band's strongest moments. Following several compilations, Playlist succeeds in its brevity where the exhaustive two-disc retrospective Should God Forget failed. With just 14 tracks, unnecessary sonic clutter like live versions or B-sides are omitted, and this best-of collection plays a little more like an album. Unfortunately, the pendulum swings widely from the obvious hits like "Pretty in Pink," "Heartbreak Beat," or "The Ghost in You" to weaker singles like "Entertain Me" and "All About You." These tracks are possibly included to add variety to the band's sometimes formulaic approach to their most-loved songs. However, leaving out "All That Money Wants" or swapping "Torch" for "Until She Comes" as a representation of the best-of the band's later period material takes the overall quality of the disc down regardless of the logic behind these choices. While the entire collection is strong enough, it doesn't quite live up to the namesake of being the band's best work. Even though it encapsulates their massive output into an album-ready chunk is a tall order, Playlist falls short of the mark, and at times misses the essence of the band with some of its choices.
Fred Thomas, Rovi

Track Listing

  1. Pretty In Pink
  2. Sister Europe
  3. Dumb Waiters
  4. President Gas
  5. Love My Way
  6. Here Come Cowboys
  7. Heartbreak Beat
  8. Should God Forget
  9. So Run Down
  10. Entertain Me
  11. The Ghost In You
  12. Sleep Comes Down
  13. All About You
  14. Torch
  15. [CD-ROM Track] [Multimedia Track]