Album Details

Country, Honky Tonk, Bakersfield Sound, Traditional Country, Western Swing

Album Review

At the Golden Nugget was not only the first live album ever recorded for commercial release by a single country artist, but is arguably Hank Thompson's best album, representing his amalgam of honky tonk and Western swing better than almost any other long player of its era. Most country artists of his generation responded better to the enthusiasm of an audience than to the cold, usually tense, often retake-laden ambience of a studio, and Thompson had a very satisfied audience that night in March of 1961. The record is made all the more alluring by the presence of Merle Travis (who had played on Thompson's recordings since 1953) on lead guitar, and two numbers out of Travis' repertory ("Nine Pound Hammer," "John Henry") are included among the 13 songs here.
Bruce Eder, Rovi

Track Listing

  1. Honky Tonk Girl
  2. I Guess I'm Getting Over You
  3. I'll Step Aside
  4. Orange Blossom Special
  5. I Didn't Mean to Fall in Love
  6. John Henry
  7. Nine Pound Hammer
  8. She's Just a Whole Lot Like You
  9. Have I Told You Lately That I Love You
  10. Steel Guitar Rag
  11. Just One Step Away
  12. Lost Highway
  13. A Six Pack to Go
purchase full album

Similar Albums