Album Details

June 10, 1997
Rhythm & Blues, Soul, Funk, New Orleans R&B

Album Review

In keeping with the drift of Rhino's Very Best Of volumes, this 16-track disc provides a more concise, budget-minded retrospective for listeners who might not want a set that offers twice as much or more (in this case, Rhino's own two-disc Funkify Your Life anthology). That's not necessarily a criticism -- funk grooves can get tiring over the course of two hours if you're not a rhythm fiend. Should you want to keep your Meters to the one-sitting level, this smartly chosen, well-annotated set is fine, including all of the cuts ("Cissy Strut," "Sophisticated Cissy," "Look-Ka Py Py," "Hey Pocky A-Way," "Fire on the Bayou") you'd expect to find on a greatest-hits set.
Richie Unterberger, Rovi

Track Listing

  1. Cissy Strut
  2. Live Wire
  3. Sophisticated Cissy
  4. Look-Ka Py Py
  5. Pungee
  6. Tippi-Toes
  7. Soul Island
  8. Cabbage Alley
  9. People Say
  10. Hey Pocky A-Way
  11. Just Kissed My Baby
  12. Jungle Man
  13. Out in the Country
  14. Fire on the Bayou
  15. They All Ask'd for You
  16. Trick Bag
purchase full album