Album Details

Pop/Rock, Prog-Rock, British Folk-Rock

Album Review

The concept album rears its head -- and rears back about 500 years. While other progressive rock groups were doing album-length suites dealing with apocalyptic themes, Amazing Blondel were doing 20-minute multi-part pieces ("fantasia" is the best classical music term) depicting idealized love between man and woman, man and nature, and man and God. It all plays a little like the Strawbs' work of this same era without the sardonic edge, and is all achingly beautiful. [The 1996 CD reissue is especially pleasing for eliminating the problem of surface noise that afflicted most copies of the original LP.]
Bruce Eder, Rovi

Track Listing

  1. Fantasia Lindum: Prelude and Theme/Swifts, Swains and Leafy...
  2. To Ye
  3. Safety in God Alone
  4. Two Dances: Almaine/Bransle 'For My Lady's Delight'
  5. Three Seasons Almaine
  6. Siege of Yaddlethorpe