Album Details

June 09, 1998
Folk, British Folk-Rock, British Folk, Folk-Rock, Psychedelic

Album Review

Gold Dust: Live at the Royalty captures Sandy Denny's final concert. The show (performed on Sunday, November 27, 1977) was intended to be the first date of an 11-city tour, but it turned out to be her last show ever. It certainly wasn't the way anyone wanted Denny to leave the stage, but it remains an affecting, surprising farewell. There are familiar items, to be sure, but the concert also finds her breaking new ground and moving away from traditional folk-rock to an edgier sound. These are subtle distinctions that only hardcore fans will notice, but those fans will find Gold Dust a minor treasure.
Stephen Thomas Erlewine, Rovi

Track Listing

  1. I Wish I Was a Fool for You (For Shame for Doing Wrong)
  2. Stranger to Himself
  3. I'm a Dreamer
  4. Take Me Away
  5. Nothing More
  6. The Sea
  7. The Lady
  8. Gold Dust
  9. Solo
  10. John the Gun
  11. It'll Take a Long Time
  12. Wretched Wilbur
  13. Tomorrow Is a Long Time
  14. The North Star Grassman and the Ravens
  15. One More Chance
  16. No More Sad Refrains
  17. Who Knows Where the Time Goes?
purchase full album