Album Details

August 24, 1999
Criss Cross
Jazz, Neo-Bop, Straight-Ahead Jazz, Post-Bop, Jazz Instrument, Piano Jazz

Album Review

Pianist David Hazeltine is the leader of this straight-ahead quartet date, contributes two originals, and is in superior form, but tenor saxophonist Javon Jackson often steals the show. Jackson, who in other settings sometimes hints strongly at Joe Henderson, on this occasion looks more toward late-'50s John Coltrane, particularly on a beautifully interpreted version of "Soul Eyes" and Trane's "Moment's Notice." Other highlights include an extended "My Foolish Heart," Hazeltine's rightfully boppish "This One's for Bud," and "What'll I Do." Hazeltine and Jackson are joined by bassist Peter Washington and either Louis Hayes or Joe Farnsworth on drums, with vibraphonist Steve Nelson making a guest appearance on "Old Devil Moon." The music is quite enjoyable and very well played, one of Javon Jackson's finest recordings and a superior outing for David Hazeltine.
Scott Yanow, Rovi

Track Listing

  1. My Foolish Heart
  2. This One's for Bud
  3. A World for Her
  4. Moment's Notice
  5. Soul Eyes
  6. Old Devil Moon
  7. What'll I Do?
  8. Bitter Sweet
purchase full album