Album Details

January 11, 2000
Warner Elektra Atlantic Corp.
Pop/Rock, Alternative Country-Rock, Alternative/Indie Rock, Heartland Rock

Album Review

On this, their eighth studio album, Blue Rodeo continues, quite frankly, pretty much as they always have. This is not necessarily a bad thing, as they produce fine country-rock music, but some new sounds would not be bad either. Principal writers Greg Keelor and Jim Cuddy both released solo efforts since the group's previous studio release (Tremolo, 1997), and while neither solo albums were classics, they did attempt new sounds, especially Keelor. However, they returned to their tried and trusted formula for Days in Between. The playing is tight and professional, and their remarkable harmonies and strong melodies are all present. The problem is that any one of these songs could be on any of their albums, and by the end of this CD all of the tracks begin to sound somewhat too familiar -- no surprises. Fans will not be disappointed, and indeed enthusiasts of the country-rock genre will enjoy this release as well. Yet when all is said and done, one cannot help but feel somewhat disappointed, since the band fails to live up to the potential demonstrated on earlier releases.
Aaron Badgley, Rovi

Track Listing

  1. Cinema Song
  2. The Seeker
  3. Begging You to Let Me In
  4. Bitter Fruit
  5. Somebody Waits
  6. Andrea
  7. Sad Nights
  8. This Road
  9. The Day in Between
  10. Always Getting Better
  11. Rage
  12. Truescott
purchase full album