Album Details

September 25, 2001
ASV/Living Era
Jazz, Vocal Pop, Tin Pan Alley Pop, Traditional Pop, American Popular Song, Dance Bands, Classical Crossover, Sweet Bands

Album Review

Sweet bandleader and honeyed saxophonist Freddy Martin combined elements of big-band jazz and dance music with a small string section. He was more consistently successful with this formula than others who tried it heavy-handedly, pouring on too much sugar. Martin mostly managed to maintain a fascinating equilibrium between the violins and the rest of the ensemble. This is dramatically demonstrated during the instrumental chorus halfway through "The Hut Sut Song." He also established a precedent for mood music by tapping into the work of 19th and early-20th century Russian classical composers, represented here by Pyotr Ilyich Tchaikovsky, Nikolai Rimsky-Korsakov, Aram Khachaturian, and Sergei Prokofiev. This Living Era compilation presents 25 of Martin's most popular recordings. While some of these performances might seem excessively confectionary, there's no denying the creative artistry of Freddy Martin.
arwulf arwulf, Rovi

Track Listing

  1. Piano Concerto in B Flat Minor
  2. April in Paris
  3. I Saw Stars
  4. It's Been So Long
  5. Goody Goody
  6. Scatterbrain
  7. Intermezzo (Souvenir de Vienne)
  8. The Hut-Sut Song (A Swedish Serenade)
  9. Blue Champagne
  10. Rose O'Day (The Filla-da-Gusha Song)
  11. Tonight We Love
  12. Symphony
  13. Bumble Boogie
  14. Now and Forever
  15. Doin' What Comes Natur'lly
  16. To Each His Own
  17. Dingbat the Singing Cat
  18. Managua, Nicaragua
  19. Cumana
  20. The Dickie Bird Song
  21. On a Slow Boat to China
  22. Sabre Dance Boogie
  23. Czárdás
  24. I've Got a Lovely Bunch of Coconuts
  25. Music! Music! Music!