Album Details

RELEASE
November 20, 2001
LABEL
Sony Music Distribution
GENRES
Pop/Rock, Alternative Pop/Rock, Post-Punk, New Wave, Alternative/Indie Rock, College Rock, Dance-Rock, Punk/New Wave

Album Review

The Psychedelic Furs will forever be one of the '80s' original bands, so their millennium re-formation was a defining success. Beautiful Chaos: Greatest Hits Live celebrates the Psychedelic Furs' classy, cool mix of Roxy Music and the Rolling Stones and the tour which boasted a monumental comeback. Recorded at Los Angeles' House of Blues, Beautiful Chaos is the band's first live album and a return to the basics. Richard Butler's campy swagger remains inviting and sensual, and the Furs' dreamy romance on cuts like "Heaven," "The Ghost in You," and "Love My Way" showcase an intimacy never lost. The dark aesthetic of "Sister Europe" blazes with Richard Fortus' cunning riffs and the glam licks on "President Gas" reiterate the Furs' confident nature; bass, guitar, and Butler's smoky, thick vocalic growl affirm the band's dramatic compositions. A studio track entitled "Alive" does show the band's age, but elegantly so. It shimmers with a comfort and warmth not found on the Furs' earlier albums. It's also proof that the Psychedelic Furs weren't just another pop band from the glossy new wave '80s. Beautiful Chaos suggests that their rawness was never gone, and the band, too, realizes that.
MacKenzie Wilson, Rovi

Track Listing

  1. India [Live]http://itunes.apple.com/album/india/id323051859?i=323051927&uo=5&at=11l9vR
  2. Mr. Jones [Live]http://itunes.apple.com/album/beautiful-chaos-greatest-hits/id323051859?uo=5&at=11l9vR
  3. Heaven [Live]http://itunes.apple.com/album/heaven/id323051859?i=323051939&uo=5&at=11l9vR
  4. The Ghost in You [Live]http://itunes.apple.com/album/the-ghost-in-you/id323051859?i=323052000&uo=5&at=11l9vR
  5. Alive (For Once in My Lifetime) [Live]http://itunes.apple.com/album/alive-for-once-in-my-lifetime/id323051859?i=323052003&uo=5&at=11l9vR
  6. Love My Way [Live]http://itunes.apple.com/album/love-my-way/id323051859?i=323052007&uo=5&at=11l9vR
  7. Heartbreak Beat [Live]http://itunes.apple.com/album/heartbreak-beat/id323051859?i=323052016&uo=5&at=11l9vR
  8. Sister Europe [Live]http://itunes.apple.com/album/sister-europe/id323051859?i=323052023&uo=5&at=11l9vR
  9. President Gas [Live]http://itunes.apple.com/album/president-gas/id323051859?i=323052112&uo=5&at=11l9vR
  10. Into You Like a Train [Live]http://itunes.apple.com/album/into-you-like-a-train/id323051859?i=323052124&uo=5&at=11l9vR
  11. Pretty in Pink [Live]http://itunes.apple.com/album/pretty-in-pink/id323051859?i=323052215&uo=5&at=11l9vR
  12. Dumb Waiters [Live]http://itunes.apple.com/album/dumb-waiters/id323051859?i=323052216&uo=5&at=11l9vR
  13. Alive (For Once in My Lifetime) [Studio Version]http://itunes.apple.com/album/beautiful-chaos-greatest-hits/id323051859?uo=5&at=11l9vR