Album Details

September 24, 2002
Jasmine Records
Jazz, Big Band, Swing

Album Review

Stop Look and Listen collects some of the less familiar Decca recordings Jimmy Dorsey cut with the mid-'30s version of his orchestra as well as later sides from the mid-'40s version. The emphasis is on loose, swinging instrumentals, but there are a handful of fine vocal tracks here, as well, including the Andrews Sisters on the wonderful "Hold Tight, Hold Tight" and the unsung Dee Parker's fine take on "Ain't Misbehavin'." The most famous stuff isn't here, but the resulting portrait that emerges of Dorsey's bands during this period (roughly 1935 to 1946) might actually be more representative, particularly given the lessened emphasis on vocal material.
Steve Leggett, Rovi

Track Listing

  1. Dorsey Stomp
  2. Stop, Look and Listen
  3. Shoot the Meatballs to Me, Dominick Boy
  4. Serenade to Nobody in Particular
  5. Cowboy from Brooklyn
  6. Arkansas Traveller
  7. Song of the Volga Boatmen
  8. John Silver
  9. Hold Tight, Hold Tight (Want Some Sea Food, Mama)
  10. In a Sentimental Mood
  11. Major and Minor Stomp
  12. On the Trail
  13. That Wonderful Worrisome Feeling
  14. La Rosita
  15. Sak House Stomp
  16. Contrasts (Theme)
  17. The Great Lie
  18. Listen to the Mocking Bird
  19. I Got Rhythm
  20. Dolimite
  21. Parade of the Milk Bottle Caps
  22. Ain't Misbehavin'
  23. King Porter Stomp
purchase full album