Album Details

June 24, 2003
Pop/Rock, Rock & Roll, Pub Rock

Album Review

This compilation of live recordings from the current incarnation of Dr. Feelgood is representative of what the band is infamous for: original songs and covers from the Chicago blues and early rock & roll heydays, done in stripped down, revved up, pub rocking style. This lineup, with vocalist Pete Gage -- who replaced the late, great Lee Brilleaux -- includes original bassist Paul Mitchell and drummer Kevin Morris, with guitarist Steve Walwyn. Recorded during a year's worth of touring, the set contains several of founding guitarist Wilko Johnson's classic tunes, such as "Roxette," "Going Back Home," and the stellar "Back in the Night." In addition, fellow pub rock's obscure Mickey Jupp's "Down at the Doctors" is here, as well as tunes by Elmore James, Chuck Berry, and Sonny Boy Williamson, among others. Everything here is greasy, sweaty, and stinks of mold, distortion, and a bad attitude full of beer, smoke, and machismo. Just the way it should be.
Thom Jurek, Rovi

Track Listing

  1. Nadine
  2. Roxette
  3. Don't Start Me Talking
  4. Going Back Home
  5. Down by the Jetty Blues
  6. Back in the Night
  7. Shake Your Moneymaker
  8. Down at the Doctors
  9. Gimme One More Shot
  10. Mad Man Blues
  11. Bony Moronie/Tequila
purchase full album