Album Details

RELEASE
1962
LABEL
Warner Bros.
GENRES
Pop/Rock, Early Pop/Rock, Vocal Pop

Album Review

Connie Stevens' 1962 album The Hank Williams Song Book marked the pop singer's first foray into country music. Her versions of "Jambalaya," "Hey, Good Lookin'," and "Your Cheatin' Heart" can't compare to Williams' renditions but they're not meant to; the pop sweetness she lends to these songs of heartache and betrayal place them in an entirely different context. The Hank Williams Song Book is a surprisingly strong album, one of the more unique releases in Stevens' catalog, and a worthwhile reissue as well.
Heather Phares, Rovi

Track Listing

  1. Hey, Good Lookin'http://itunes.apple.com/album/hey-good-lookin-album-version/id70264271?i=70264201&uo=5
  2. I Can't Help It (If I'm Still in Love With You)http://itunes.apple.com/album/the-hank-williams-songbook/id70264271?uo=5
  3. Your Cheatin' Hearthttp://itunes.apple.com/album/your-cheatin-heart-album-version/id70264271?i=70264216&uo=5
  4. Jambalaya (On the Bayou)http://itunes.apple.com/album/the-hank-williams-songbook/id70264271?uo=5
  5. A Teardrop on a Rosehttp://itunes.apple.com/album/a-teardrop-on-rose-album-version/id70264271?i=70264228&uo=5
  6. You Win Againhttp://itunes.apple.com/album/you-win-again-album-version/id70264271?i=70264232&uo=5
  7. Settin' the Woods on Firehttp://itunes.apple.com/album/settin-woods-on-fire-album/id70264271?i=70264238&uo=5
  8. I'm So Lonesome I Could Cryhttp://itunes.apple.com/album/im-so-lonesome-i-could-cry/id70264271?i=70264243&uo=5
  9. Cold, Cold Hearthttp://itunes.apple.com/album/cold-cold-heart-album-version/id70264271?i=70264248&uo=5
  10. Honky Tonkin'http://itunes.apple.com/album/honky-tonkin-album-version/id70264271?i=70264256&uo=5
  11. Nobody's Lonesome for Mehttp://itunes.apple.com/album/nobodys-lonesome-for-me-album/id70264271?i=70264258&uo=5
  12. May You Never Be Alonehttp://itunes.apple.com/album/may-you-never-be-alone-album/id70264271?i=70264267&uo=5
purchase full album