Album Details

November 25, 2003
Sepia Records
Vocal Music, Torch Songs, Traditional Pop, Vocal Pop

Album Review

The Sepia label has made a specialty out of compiling previously unreissued material from a host of postwar vocalists, including Jo Stafford, Helen Forrest, Kitty Kallen, Georgia Gibbs, and Dorothy Lamour. Its volume on Margaret Whiting is similarly comprehensive, a lengthy compilation of her recordings from nearly a single year (1950), many of which appear for the first time on CD here. Unfortunately, Whiting wasn't getting good material during this period; although she had a way with a torchy ballad, scoring with "Make the Man Love Me" (included here), she continued to receive a lot of pedestrian material (whether an upbeat novelty song or a tame ballad). Other than the above, highlights include "We Kiss in a Shadow," "And So to Sleep Again," and "Friendly Star."
John Bush, Rovi

Track Listing

  1. Dream Peddler's Serenade
  2. Shawl of Galway Grey
  3. A-Razz-A-Ma-Tazz
  4. If You Were Only Mine
  5. Once You Find Your Guy
  6. Let's Do It Again
  7. Friendly Star
  8. You're Mine You
  9. I've Forgotten You
  10. I Gotta Get out of the Habit
  11. Don't Rock the Boat, Dear
  12. I'm in Love With You
  13. The Moon Was Yellow
  14. The Best Thing for You
  15. A Man Ain't A-Nothin' But a Wolf
  16. Sing You Sinners
  17. You Are the One
  18. Faithful
  19. Lonesome Gal
  20. Make the Man Love Me
  21. We Kiss in a Shadow
  22. The End of a Love Affair
  23. Everlasting
  24. And So to Sleep Again
  25. Alone Together