Album Details

April 20, 2004
Pop/Rock, Alternative/Indie Rock, Industrial, Experimental Rock, Noise

Album Review

For all of those curious but understandably tentative music lovers awaiting the arrival of an affordable single-disc collection summarizing the oftentimes confusing career of industrial music pioneers Chrome, Cleopatra Records' Anthology 1979-1983 offers an excellent, and pretty close to definitive, cross section of highlights from the San Francisco originals' short-lived but uniquely inspired career. Focusing on the "glory years" of the volatile Damon Edge/Helios Creed partnership, this release compiles 18 influential and revelatory tracks from Chrome's various albums, 12" and 7" singles, and even such rarities as the three tracks originally contributed to the legendary Subterranean Modern compilation ("Anti-Fade," "I Left My Heart in San Francisco," and "Meet You in the Subway"). Of course, completist-minded fans may object to the exclusion of any material dating from before Creed's arrival (essentially Chrome's recognizably formative 1977 debut album, The Visitation), but then they'd have a hard time disputing this collection's similar dismissal of anything recorded by the various splinter incarnations of Chrome that were active post-1983. And since Anthology 1979-1983 is meant to be a focused encapsulation aimed at new converts rather than a broad overview for devout fanatics, the above argument is most likely rendered moot on arrival. And for the former group of Chrome neophytes, this set is as recommended a starting point as they come.
Eduardo Rivadavia, Rovi

Track Listing

  1. Chromosome Damage
  2. TV as Eyes
  3. Zombie Warfare
  4. March of the Chrome Police (A Cold Clammy Bombing)
  5. You've Been Duplicated
  6. Abstract Nympho
  7. Anti-Fade
  8. I Left My Heart in San Francisco
  9. Meet You in the Subway
  10. New Age
  11. Electric Chair
  12. In a Dream
  13. Firebomb
  14. Future Ghosts
  15. 3rd from the Sun
  16. Gehenna Lion
  17. Half Machine Lip Moves
  18. Perfumed Metal
purchase full album