Album Details

January 18, 2005
Castle Music Ltd.
Pop/Rock, Psychedelic, Prog-Rock, British Psychedelia

Album Review

Long sought after by collectors of all things progressive and psychedelic, Fruupp's four studio records (Future Legends, Prince of Heaven's Eyes, Seven Secrets, Modern Masquerades) were marvels of expertly crafted art rock banality, falling somewhere between the theatrics and tonal complexities of King Crimson and the soft rock noodling of Caravan. To their credit, they never succumbed to writing singles like Genesis or Emerson, Lake & Palmer -- they had a full-time oboe player. Rather, their focus was on the dynamic of the song, and their live shows won over more fans than their actual recordings. Castle's remastered, 27-track retrospective covers all four of the Irish quartet's records between 1973 and 1975 and includes extensive liner notes. It's All Up Now: Anthology may break little ground, but fans of the Canterbury Scene or just progressive rock in general will find Fruupp's spacy jams and British folk-inspired melodies and lyrics a welcome addition to their collections.
James Christopher Monger, Rovi

Track Listing

  1. Future Legends
  2. Decision
  3. As Day Breaks With Dawn
  4. Graveyard Epistle
  5. On a Clear Day
  6. Lord of the Incubus
  7. Song for a Thought
  8. Future Legends
  9. Wise as Wisdom
  10. White Eyes
  11. Garden Lady
  12. Three Spires
  13. Elizabeth
  14. The Seventh Secret
  15. Prince of Heaven
  16. It's All Up Now
  17. Prince of Darkness
  18. Annie Austere
  19. Knowing You
  20. Crystal Brook
  21. The Perfect Wish
  22. Misty Morning Way
  23. Masquerading With Dawn
  24. Gormenghast
  25. Why
  26. Janet Planet
  27. Sheba's Song