Album Details

July 19, 2005
Sanctuary Fontana
Folk, Folk-Rock, Psychedelic, British Folk-Rock, British Folk

Album Review

For a virtually unknown (in the United States) Scottish guitar player, Bert Jansch has had his fair share of anthologies. 1998's Blackwater Side and 2003's Legend: The Classic Recordings focused singularly on his late-'60s heyday, while 2002's two-disc Dazzling Stranger -- still the superior choice -- followed his career through the turn of the millennium. Castle's Running from Home: An Introduction To attempts to balance all three by sticking with a single disc and cramming it with 21 tracks that run the gamut from 1965-2002. Much like Hannibal' s Way to Blue: An Introduction to Nick Drake collection, Running from Home is ideal for the Jansch novice, but offers little to the seasoned listener. It lucidly follows the artist's career from dusty troubadour to Pentangle and back to dusty troubadour with a solid play list of well-known classics "Angie," "Blackwater Side," and recent pieces both studio-derived ("Black Cat Blues") and live ("How It All Came Down"). Running from Home is solid enough, though a Jansch collection without "Needle of Death" on it is like a Falco anthology without "Rock Me Amadeus."
James Christopher Monger, Rovi

Track Listing

  1. On the Edge of a Dream [Rock Baby Rock Remix]
  2. Black Cat Blues
  3. Looking for Lvoe
  4. Crimson Moon
  5. Sweet Death
  6. Downunder [Live]
  7. How It All Came Down [Live]
  8. The Mountain Streams
  9. Sweet Rose in the Garden
  10. Lapwing
  11. Bittern
  12. The First Time Ever I Saw Your Face
  13. The January Man
  14. Sally Free and Easy
  15. Nobody's Bar
  16. Poison
  17. Woe Is Love My Dear
  18. Blackwaterside
  19. Lucky Thirteen
  20. Running from Home
  21. Angie : Angie/Work Song
purchase full album