Album Details

August 29, 2006
Specialty Records
Rhythm & Blues, Early R&B, Rock & Roll, New Orleans R&B

Album Review

As part of the Specialty Profiles series, New Orleans R&B belter Lloyd Price is spotlighted on several tracks he recorded for the Los Angeles-based label between 1952 and 1959. This is raucous R&B, not to be confused with Price's pop hits recorded for ABC-Paramount in the early '60s. The 14 cuts on this compilation combine lesser-heard gems like "If Crying Was Murder" and "Where You At?" with original chart-toppers "Oooh-Oooh-Oooh," "Restless Heart," "Tell Me Pretty Baby," "Ain't It a Shame?," and his first number one hit, "Lawdy Miss Clawdy," which featured Fats Domino on piano. This is essential material that should be in any R&B or early rock & roll collection. As an extra bonus, the Specialty Profiles series includes a sampler that showcases R&B gems by Specialty acts of the era, including Little Richard, Sam Cooke, Larry Williams, Percy Mayfield, Don & Dewey, Joe Liggins, Jesse & Marvin, and Guitar Slim.
Al Campbell, Rovi

Track Listing

  1. Lawdy Miss Clawdy
  2. Tell Me Pretty Baby
  3. Ain't It a Shame?
  4. Oooh-Oooh-Oooh
  5. Where You At?
  6. Oo-Ee Baby
  7. Restless Heart
  8. Mailman Blues
  9. Tryin' to Find Someone to Love
  10. Let Me Come Home Baby
  11. If Crying Was Murder
  12. What's the Matter Now?
  13. Lord, Lord, Amen!
  14. Rock 'n' Roll Dance
  15. R.M. Blues [*]
  16. Pink Champagne [*]
  17. Please Send Me Someone to Love [*]
  18. Lawdy Miss Clawdy [*]
  19. Dream Girl [*]
  20. The Things That I Used to Do [*]
  21. Long Tall Sally [*]
  22. I'll Come Running Back to You [*]
  23. Leavin' It All Up to You [*]
  24. Dizzy Miss Lizzy [*]
purchase full album